Weekly Calendar of Early Music

Calendar: January 1-9, 2022

Sunday, January 2 POSTPONED—Cantata Collective: Christmas and New Year’s cantatas, BWV 64 and 153 Please note that this concert has been postponed: we will inform you of the new date as soon as possible. The Bay Area’s only professional...

Calendar: December 13-19, 2021

Wednesday, December 15 American Bach Soloists: A Baroque Christmas in Grace Cathedral In this special abridged performance, ABS will play the Christmas portion (part I) of Handel’s Messiah along with music of the season by Arcangelo Corelli...

Calendar: December 6-12, 2021

Thursday, December 9—Sunday, December 12 Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra and Chorale: Christmas Oratorio The perfect start to the holiday season, Bach’s Christmas Oratorio combines the drama of an oratorio with the religiosity of a cantata, resulting...

Calendar: November 22-28, 2021

Sunday, November 28 Cantata Collective The opening concert of Cantata Collective’s season features cantatas BWV 156 and BWV 159 with soloists Jennifer Paulino, Christine Brandes, Derek Chester, and Paul Max Tipton. Time: Sunday, Nov. 28, 5 PM:...

Calendar: November 15-21, 2021

Sunday, November 21 Sanctuary Salon Concert The San Francisco Early Music Society presents a concert showcasing some of the local artists who have made the Bay Area synonymous with early music, including short sets from The Bertamo Trio, Harmonia...

Calendar: November 8-14, 2021

Thursday, November 11 PBO Sessions: Handel’s Biblical Heroes and Villains Drawing from Handel’s popular renditions of biblical narratives in the historically ubiquitous format of the oratorio—somewhere between off-stage opera and a secular...

Calendar: November 1-7, 2021

Friday November 5 Glorious Mysteries: More Rosary Sonatas by H.I.F. Biber Barefoot Chamber Concerts presents local Biber expert David Wilson, accompanied by Katherine Heater and Barbara Blaker Krumdieck on continuo . Time: Friday, Nov. 5, 6:30 PM:...

Calendar: October 25-31, 2021

Sunday, October 31 MusicSources: Duo Gordis-Hantaï Jérôme Hantaï and Lillian Gordis play music of Marin Marais, Francois Couperin, and Johann Sebastian Bach. Time: Sunday, Oct. 31, 5 PM: PDT Cost: $25-$30; free for under 18. Venue: St. Mary Magdalen...