Bach and Sons

Johann Christian Bach by Thomas Gainsborough

This season’s Sunday Afternoon concert series at the California Jazz Conservatory concludes on March 31 with “Bach and Sons.” Celebrate Johann Sebastian Bach’s 334th birthday with four works by Bach and two of his sons, played on copies of historical instruments! Laura Rubinstein-Salzedo, baroque violin; Gretchen Claassen, baroque cello; and Derek Tam, harpsichord, perform J.S. Bach, Sonata for violin and keyboard in A major, BWV 1015; and Sonata for viola da gamba and keyboard in G major, BWV 1027; C.P.E. Bach, Keyboard Trio from Wq. 91; and J.C. Bach, Keyboard Trio from Op. 15.

MUSA is a chamber ensemble dedicated to historically informed performances of baroque and Classical repertoire, as well as new music for period instruments. From trio sonatas to orchestral works, MUSA has presented programs on numerous concert series across the Bay Area. Their 2018–19 season includes performances at SF Music Day, Stanford Hospital, Third Sunday Concerts at St. Alban’s, Fifth Street Farms, Arts at St. Bede’s, Santa Cruz Chamber Players, Early Music Sundays at California Jazz Conservatory, and Wednesday Noon Concerts @ Throckmorton. MUSA is a fiscal affiliate of InterMusic SF.

The CJC offers a casual and intimate environment where the audience can enjoy a light meal and sip a glass of wine or a cup of coffee while enjoying the concert. The concert starts at 4:30 pm at the California Jazz Conservatory, 2087 Addison Street, Berkeley. Tickets are $20 (general admission) and go on sale for each concert approximately one month in advance. Online tickets are available at

Leave a reply
Written by Jonathan Harris
San Francisco Early Music Society