2020–21 Nominations for SFEMS Board of Directors

From Reed Schmidt, chair of the SFEMS Governance Committee.

The SFEMS Bylaws state: “At each Annual Meeting of the members, the members of the Society shall elect new members of the Board of Directors from a slate of recommended candidates presented by the Governance Committee.  An affirmative vote by the majority of members present shall suffice to elect a new director.”

The Governance Committee recommends to the members the following slates of candidates to serve on the SFEMS Board of Directors.

Slate of Candidates Nominated for One-Year Term

The Governance Committee nominates Dr. Alexandra Amati, and Diana Bersohn, currently Interim Directors, to a one-year term.

Dr. Alexandra Amati is a Professor and Director of the Music Program at the University of San Francisco. She has written program notes and given pre-curtain lectures for many music organizations, including the Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra, San Francisco Bach Choir, the San Francisco Opera and Symphony, and various community organizations.”

Diana Bersohn is a Managing Director at Accenture and her practice is technology strategy. She has a life-long interest in classical and early music and is committed to the Arts. She is a Board Member on the Executive Committee of AnitaB.org, a non-profit organization focused on increasing the presence of women in technology.”

Slate of Candidates Nominated for Three-Year Term

There are two Directors who are currently serving a one-year term:

Jeff Angell

Barbara Ruvolo

The Governance Committee recommends they be elected for a three-year term.

Slate of Directors Nominated To Be Re-Elected for Three-Year Term

There are three Directors currently sitting on the Board of Directors whose three-year term will expire at the end of the fiscal year 2020:

Bill Stewart

Violet Grgich

Kent Young

The Governance recommends their re-election to continue serving on the Board of Directors for another three-year term.

Current Directors To Continue To Serve on Board of Directors

The following Directors currently sit on the Board of Directors.  Their terms have not expired, and they will continue serving on the Board.

Marie Collins

Gloria Eive

Juliette Faraco

Cherie Grant

Joyce Johnson Hamilton

Randy Matamoros

Reed Schmidt

Michael Stewart

Members of the Governance Committee are Reed Schmidt (Chair), Marie Collins, Gloria Eive, Randy Matamoros, and Jeff Angell.

Written by Lorena Zapata